Can This Topper Be Saved?

Decorating By trifles Updated 4 Aug 2011 , 10:18am by tokazodo

trifles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trifles Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 12:31am
post #1 of 10

I'm a newbie who took on a wedding cake as her first effort. I know. Anyway, so far I've been having great luck. I made a bunch of gerber daisies using the new gum paste kit from Wilton and they look terrific. They're about 3.5" across and very realistic looking. I want to use them to create a cluster for a topper on an 8" round (atop a 10" round) which will be covered with fondant. But I have no idea how to create a topper! And I don't seem to be able to find instructions. Plus, it seems it would have been a good idea to add wires to my daisies which I didn't do. Is there any help for this project? Could I hot glue them onto styrofoam or something? help...

9 replies
tokazodo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tokazodo Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 12:51am
post #2 of 10

Can you just let them dry and set up, and then set them in the buttercream of your cake, or glue them with food safe glue to the fondant on the cake?
Many gum paste flowers are made ahead of time and dried.

gumpaste glue:

http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Gum-Paste-Adhesive

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-43689-.html

kristanashley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kristanashley Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 1:05am
post #3 of 10

I would stick them onto a ball of fondant with candy melts.

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 1:26am
post #4 of 10

Stick them to a mound of BC on top of the cake.

trifles Posted 4 Aug 2011 , 1:34am
post #5 of 10