Minimal Experience, How To Start & Gain Experience? Inte

Decorating By weidertm24 Updated 17 Jun 2011 , 4:14pm by weidertm24

weidertm24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weidertm24 Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 2:29am
post #1 of 17

Hello all!

Im 20 years old and decided that I want to decorate cakes for a living. However I have minimal experience, just a few cakes I've done for family. What can I do to gain experience? I'm not great, but like I said I've only done a few cakes. Right now I can't even take the 3 Wilton classes because they coincide with my current work schedule. I REALLY want to take these classes but they don't offer them during the day or on the weekend near me. I've thought about buying the student kits they offer not sure what everyone thinks about them. I've asked about interning and the response I got wasn't great. Just about everyone didn't like the idea and said they didn't have time to teach someone with no experience. So not sure what to do.

I would really love everyones ideas and suggestions.

16 replies
nanefy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanefy Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 2:41am
post #2 of 17

OK - I wouldn't panic about not having taken any classes or anything. I haven't taken a single class, for anything even related to cakes and I don't really need to (some people might disagree). I have learned everything I need to know from either books or the internet - but the thing that has taught me the most is practice practice practice. I've started out with cupcakes and at that time I wasn't even interested in doing wedding/celebration cakes and now I am an addict and tbh would happily give up doing cupcakes. I'm not saying that classes aren't good, because you would be able to learn things a lot faster, but it's not essential. In fact I'm pretty sure that Elisa Strauss is completely self taught as well.