Taste Testing

Business By NancysCakesandBeyond Updated 28 Apr 2014 , 10:32pm by klan30

NancysCakesandBeyond Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NancysCakesandBeyond Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 2:26am
post #1 of 17

I am still pretty new to caking and have had a few taste testings. I am curious as to what some of you cakers do for your taste testing as far as cake goes. Do you bake a small 4", 5" or 6" cake and take the whole thing or do you make a small cake and use just a piece of it for the taste testing? Or maybe something else you do. I would love to know what other cakers do.

Currently, I have made a single layer (torted) 6" cake in the flavor of their choice. I end up giving the rest of the cake to them just in case they have other family members that would like to taste as well when they get home. I do charge $25 for my taste testings and it is not a part of the cake price if they choose for me to make their cake. I don't decorate them but are just either plain buttercream or plain fondant. Am I on the right track or not?

I would love love love any input!

Thanks so much!!

16 replies
yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 2:41am
post #2 of 17

I do to-go tastings, and when I have extra batter, I bake 6" cake, cut into quarters and freeze the quarters wrapped tightly in celophane. I let the client choose 4 flavors and 3 fillings, and charge $25. If their order is over $100, the $25 goes towards their deposit. If it's under $100, I keep the $25. And obviously, if they don't order, I was paid for my materials and my time. I put the $25 towards the deposit, because, I THOUGHT that for the most part, bakeries offer free tastings (although after reading a few threads here on CC, I am probably wrong about that). So if they book with me, the tasting was essentially free icon_smile.gif

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 17 Jun 2011 , 2:42am
post #3 of 17