All The Fondant Help You Can Give...!!

Decorating By Sia993 Updated 21 Mar 2011 , 3:48pm by imagenthatnj

Sia993 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sia993 Posted 20 Mar 2011 , 9:53am
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone.... I'm totally new to everything Fondant-related....
Would you believe it if I told you that I 'discovered' fondant less than a week ago? icon_eek.gif
So far I'v made and brought only whip cream cakes.... As far as I know, we don't get fondant cakes in here.... Anyway, coming to my queries....
I researched a bit and I tried making rolled fondant which didn't come out well... I'm planning on making MMF with homemade marshmallows (where I live, marshmallows don't come cheap!)
In the marshmallow making videos I saw, they left the marshmallow-'batter' to set for a few hours... and in MMF tutorials, they melt the marshmallows and then kneaded it... I was wondering that if I skip the part where I have to leave the marshmallow to set and directly knead the 'batter', will it work?
and from what I'v read and seen, MMF is kinda dough-like.... but what will it's texture be after I cover the cake with it? Will it dry out and become hard or will it remain soft? Do i have to refrigerate the cake after covering it? Can i cover a cake with MMF after icing it with whip cream? Can I use fondant accents on a whip cream cake? I read somewhere that the accents will 'bleed'... So could I coat my whip cream cake with piping gel and then top it off with fondant accents? Come to think about it, can I even coat a whip cream cake with piping gel..?!?
Any help will be appreciated.... Thank you... icon_smile.gif

6 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 20 Mar 2011 , 6:37pm
post #2 of 7