My Cakes Look Lumpy!

Decorating By FH_Cakes Updated 25 Dec 2010 , 1:33pm by indydebi

FH_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FH_Cakes Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 3:00am
post #1 of 11

I have been caking for 2 years, so you would think by now I should have it down..right...wrong! For the life of me I can not get my buttercream smooth and even. I do the "viva" method for smoothing, my problem is the buttercream is always uneven causing it to look lumpy. It's not really bad, but I notice it. What really made it stand out for me is that I did my first "faux" tier for a x-mas wedding cake. The bottom is faux and the top square tier is cake. The bottom looks fantastic and my tier looks...well.....lumpy! I have seen the Shugarshack DVD..I use some of her techniques, but I still have issues...

What do I do? How can I master this?

10 replies
Frecklysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Frecklysmom Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 3:25am
post #2 of 11

I haven't been doing cakes very long but have noticed that if I make the buttercream a day or two ahead of time, it smooths on much easier. I also recently starting using one of those big putty knives instead of the Wilton spatulas and it works amazing! Now my biggest problem is getting the frosting too thick on the top! oh well....practice, practice, practice!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 3:37am
post #3 of 11

I have switched to using the huge icer tip to get an even coating of icing on the cake. It helps

pinkpiggie78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkpiggie78 Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 3:37am
post #4 of 11

I would recommend using an icing tip to put your buttercream on the cake. It gives you a fairly even coat to start with and then you can use Sharon's techniques. I would also recommend using a fondant smoother instead of your hands when you are "viva-ing" the cake.

I do mostly buttercream work (folks just don't like and won't pay for fondant) and I have definately improved over time.