Help! I Think My Cake Is Starting To Collapse!

Decorating By ConfectionsCC Updated 18 Dec 2010 , 10:29pm by ConfectionsCC

ConfectionsCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConfectionsCC Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 7:26pm
post #1 of 13

I baked a cake yesterday, and today I stacked and filled it with cream cheese icing, and strawberry filling. Its a small cake, 6in and only two layers...I noticed this morning that some of the dam was buldging a little, so when I was ready to decorate, I made it smooth again, keeping it very cold, then I covered in my fondant. Not only does the cake look all bumpy on the sides, now the top is no longer level! I already have it decorated with white fondant, with black fondant stripes and a black circle in the center with an airbrushed pattern. Is there a way to fix it? Will it keep getting worse? I have no idea whats going on, I am still quite new to this!

12 replies
Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 7:38pm
post #2 of 13

It just sounds like your filling is very slippery, and your dam has budged especially when you keep trying to smooth it out. You have two options really - One: keep it like it is, I guess try to keep it refridgerated and when you move it do so very carefully so the top layer doesn't slip to the side even more. Two: remove all fondant, separate the layers, and fill with something less slippery or make sure you use a better dam around the edge of whatever filling you do use. Then redecorate. If it is a paid cake, I would go for the second option. If it is just for your family, it's no biggie that you have a bulge! You'll know next time that a good dam is pretty essential.
You could also try leaving it a day between filling and decorating. Cakes can still settle overnight with the dam/filling in (I cover mine with plastic wrap), and there may be less chance of a bulge when you put the fondant on the next day.

ConfectionsCC Posted 18 Dec 2010 , 7:47pm
post #3 of 13