How Do You Feel About Internships?

Business By weidertm24 Updated 28 Sep 2010 , 3:31am by scp1127

weidertm24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
weidertm24 Posted 24 Sep 2010 , 11:30pm
post #1 of 26

Just wondering how you bakery owners feel about hiring someone as an intern. I am very interested in getting into the cake business but I have no experience. I'm the type of person who likes to learn on hand and by watching others. Also if you think this would be acceptable how should I go about this? I know there are few cake shoppes around where I live so my resources would be limited.

Thanks in advance!

25 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 1:47am
post #2 of 26

I know jillmakescakes has used interns. you might PM her and get her input.

shanney54 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanney54 Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 2:39am
post #3 of 26

I'm glad that you started this thread because I have been wondering about that too! Would you mind posting what you find?

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 4:00am
post #4 of 26

I think you'd be better off taking some classes to get experience.

Bakeries normally get interns that already possess applicable skills in order to complete their degree with a required number of apprenticeship hours. They aren't always willing to have extra hands around that requires them to teach the basics to especially during peak seasons when they really need helpers that have previous experience.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 25 Sep 2010 , 1:11pm
post #5 of 26

I work out of my home, and I get calls every week asking if I take interns. I don't, obviously, and I figure that anyone who has a clue would be able to figure that out. If you're going to cold-call businesses and ask about it just make sure that they're a large enough operation that they actually have a staff.