No - I Won't Make You A Free Wedding Cake!

Business By mombabytiger Updated 27 Aug 2010 , 2:42am by newmansmom2004

mombabytiger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mombabytiger Posted 25 Aug 2010 , 1:06pm
post #1 of 16

I need pictures for my new website and a friend suggested HER friend who was trying to build her portfolio. In other words, I would be doing the friend a favor by letting her do my photography. Great, huh?

LAST NIGHT at 10:00 I get an e-mail from the budding photographer telling me that her best friend was in town to do cake tastings and not only could I do a cake tasting for them THIS MORNING, but since she was doing my pictures for free, could I please do her friend's wedding cake for free.

This is NOT a professional photographer! I AM a professional cake decorator! So why would this be an even trade? And we won't even talk about doing a cake tasting with 12 hours notice (8 of which I would hope to be sleeping!)

I wrote all kinds of snarky things and then settled on a polite response, but for corn's sake - do people think we have wedding cake samples sitting around the house?

And WHY do people always think it's no big deal for you to do a FREE wedding cake??

Sorry I flared.

15 replies
sweetonyouzz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetonyouzz Posted 25 Aug 2010 , 1:31pm
post #2 of 16

That just burns me to read that. Why should you do it for free unless it's your daughter or some close relative? I had a whiney bride who complained about the price that I did the flowers on the cake for no cost as I thought she was really poor or something....stupid, stupid me...when I got there to set up her wedding hall was dripping of expensive....never, never will I fall for that one again...I am such a sucker...

Find someone like a relative who is good at photos....and give them a few bucks for it..then you will not feel obligated to anyone.