I'm Very, Very New And Would Like Some Help, Please.

Decorating By Andreasmommy Updated 5 Jul 2010 , 8:34pm by Montrealconfections

Andreasmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Andreasmommy Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 8:30pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone!
I've recently been inspired by my friend Krysten's awesome cakes and have decided to try to make my daughters 1st birthday cake in August! My friend told me about this site and I've been looking around for tips but I'm still very new to the abbreviations and techniques so I'm a little lost.

I've never made a cake from scratch before but of course I've done box cakes and just frosted them. I wanted to start practicing and doing "test" cakes so the actual cake for her birthday isn't too horrible looking..lol Can any of you please give me some tips/steps on how and where I should start? I don't even think I have good baking pans. The only ones I have and use are older pans I just used for box cakes. I'm sure this sounds silly but I'm not sure exactly what tools I'm going to need or even how to put a nice cake together. I've been doing research online but a lot of websites don't really start at step 1.

Thank you in advance for your help. I'm really excited to start practicing and I hope to be able to one day make cakes as processional as I've seen on here!

9 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 1 Jul 2010 , 8:36pm
post #2 of 10

If you hover the mouse over the abbreviations, a little caption explaining them will pop up.

What you need to start with are a couple of straight-sided baking pans, an offset spatula, cake leveler, and a turntable. There's all kinds of fancy, expensive stuff you can get...but it's perfectly fine to start with the basics. I still use a cheap plastic Wilton turntable and I'm happy enough with it. Wilton also makes a very basic leveler that's just a wire on a frame for about three dollars, and it works really well.