Where To Buy Fondant? Or Should I Make It Myself?

Decorating By GypsyQueen Updated 23 May 2010 , 6:40pm by andreamen1

GypsyQueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GypsyQueen Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 1:55am
post #1 of 40

Do you buy your fondant, or make it yourself? I'm new at this and have never used fondant before. I've had a pre made box of colored fondant that I have yet to use, but need fondant for the base of the cake. I know Walmart sells a small box of white rolled fondant but doubt everyone uses that. The cakes on here are amazing and use so much fondant that I wonder where everyone gets their fondant. Please let me know!

39 replies
Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 1:59am
post #2 of 40

I get mines at a wholesale company over here. What area do you live in?

Sometimes when you just can't find a place, you'd have to get it online.

Jeep_girl816 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeep_girl816 Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 2:14am
post #3 of 40

I almost always make my own. I've had great luck with Toba Garrett's recipe, it's in the recipe section here on cake central. Good Luck!

chellescountrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chellescountrycakes Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 2:48am
post #4 of 40

I have bought the walmart wilton fondant once. It was okay. but high.
So I decided to make the 'kitchen aid fondant' here on the website. Its with marshmellows. I have a sunbeam mixer and it made up great.

Matter of fact, my 9 year old -opps he turned 10 a few days ago-, makes it for me. Its easy, and they LOVE it. It rolls out great, is wonderful for a beginner (which I am!!) AND costs next to nothing to make. Plus it keeps for EVER. unless your kids know where you store it and come by and get a pinch all the time... It also takes color like a dream, and can be painted on.

Both of which I have done.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 3:16am
post #5 of 40