Help! What Did I Do Wrong?

Decorating By elliebakescakes Updated 15 Mar 2010 , 1:11am by leah_s

elliebakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elliebakescakes Posted 13 Mar 2010 , 10:10pm
post #1 of 19

I made two cakes and delivered them this weekend. I'm still relatively new, so I'm still learning. The cakes were cute, but during transport they both shifted and the top tiers (one cake was a two-tier and the other was a three) moved over to the left. Actually, the larger cake was already slightly slanted, but not too bad and it shifted majorly during transport.

I used cake boards and I used wooden skewers. Those are too thin, aren't they? What size dowel should I use, or should I look into SPS (I really don't know what that is, but I've heard great things about it here).

I'm just really frustrated. I love doing this, and I hope to continue and get better. Ideas, please? Thanks for the advice, and thanks for not laughing too much at my inexperience! haha icon_lol.gif

18 replies
auntyjo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntyjo Posted 13 Mar 2010 , 11:13pm
post #2 of 19

i would never deliver a cake that is already stacked, always try and stack it once you're at the venue it may take a little longer this way but at least it you won't have problems while transporting it

MrsPound Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsPound Posted 13 Mar 2010 , 11:14pm
post #3 of 19

((I'm so not experienced))

But, did your top tier slide off the board, or the cake and board slide off the bottom tier? Use dowels, not skewers.. they are not strong enough. I use skewers when hold up decoration out of gumpaste and stuff. You can find dowels in the cake decor aisle, or home depot, but they come in one very long stick form.

Also, stick the dowel in the cake and mark it where you need to cut. Do this for each one, and they may all be different. if you use the same size on all of them chances are, your cake will lean.