Gumpaste People Help!!!!!

Decorating By pattib09 Updated 11 Jan 2010 , 11:56pm by stephaniescakenj

pattib09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattib09 Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 10:16pm
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting for help so i hope i am doing it right. I need to make gumpaste people for an upcoming wedding cake. I have made animals and stuff but when i tried to make strawberry shortcake figure she sank over night and got fat... i have this problem every time.. my figured get fat!! I use gumpaste. How do i make people not get fat?? is there any tutorials out there? I have attached a photo of the people i need to make they will be sitting over the edge as the cake topper...please help!!!
LL

16 replies
janeoxo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janeoxo Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 10:24pm
post #2 of 17

Do you put anything in the middle of them to offer support for example a cocktail stick?

pattib09 Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 10:32pm
post #3 of 17

I have tried bunching toothbicks, but when i leave them to harden i come back and they have sunk down... even my animals do it when i leave them? whats going on am i doing something wrong?? check out my website www.pattiscustomcakes.weebly.com in my photo is a photo of some animals and a person i did...there fat!

linstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
linstead Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 10:37pm
post #4 of 17

Patti - your animal figures all look great to me! Maybe if you are in a humid climate it may make it more difficult to dry (?)

Chippi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chippi Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 10:38pm
post #5 of 17

Are you leaving them on a cake? buttercream will soften them, add some tylose to your gumpaste perhaps your weather where you live is a factor. If they are sitting on buttercream a long period that will cause them to droop. HTH's

Chippi

marzipandoll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marzipandoll Posted 11 Jan 2010 , 10:38pm
post #6 of 17