"we Didn't Want Leaves On Our Roses" Vent

Decorating By k33bl3r Updated 9 Dec 2009 , 9:40pm by kelleym

k33bl3r Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k33bl3r Posted 6 Dec 2009 , 4:33am
post #1 of 29

First off, you should know that I work in a grocery store bakery. It pays the bills while I'm still learning cake decorating.

So, on Tuesday I get a call from a woman who is renewing her wedding vows and wants a cake. She says she has her own stands, but wants 3 tiers. 6, 10, 14. So, I look in our price book, and give her the price of the three separate tiers, all adding up to $350. Which, is pretty much what the cake would have cost her with the stands. Well, this of course didn't sit well with her since she "wasn't actually wanting a wedding cake." Bullsh!t. Last time I checked, 3 tiers is a wedding cake. So, I tell her I'll call my boss who just had a tooth pulled and was drugged up and in pain at the time, to see what we can do.

Long story even longer, we finally settled on a price of $145. Now, I'm no dummy. I know that grocery stores jack the price of everything up 4 times what it's worth. But even for a grocery store who gets their cakes in already baked/frozen and their icing in buckets, it takes a good amount of time to make a "non-wedding, wedding cake". (Seriously, God bless the decorators that do it at home!!!)

They asked for red borders and roses. Done, no problem. Mind you, we've talked to this woman some 7 separate times in the span of 4 days. My boss actually decided she wanted to do the cake. I was more than happy to let her. The cakes looked flawless. On the middle of each tier, she placed a large group of red roses with leaves.