Mixing Colors Without Huge Kitchen Explosion

Decorating By bea30 Updated 15 Nov 2009 , 12:53am by indydebi

bea30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bea30 Posted 14 Nov 2009 , 3:55pm
post #1 of 16

Hello. I'm new to all this cake decorating and am trying to teach myself. I would like to start a catering company. Anyway, I have looked for a thread on mixing colors without making a huge mess and I can't find it. I use wilton colors and toothpick method and it ends up making the biggest mess and the powdered sugar explodes all over the kitchen and the colors get all over everything. Cleanliness doesn't come naturally to me. Can someone explain how to mix colors without making such a huge mess? And I feel like I have to dip in the colors way too much and it takes a really long time. Then the toothpick gets all gummy and I have to use a different one and it is so disorganized. There has got to be a better way. I feel like I have done a total workout by the time I'm done, then I have to face the mess I just made. Any help?

15 replies
UltimateCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
UltimateCakes Posted 14 Nov 2009 , 4:17pm
post #2 of 16

HUH? Powdered Sugar explodes???? Maybe if you have some DET. cord. Why are you coloring the powdered sugar in the first place? For large batches of *icing*, I use baby spoons. Toothpicks are great b/c you can throw them away. Really not that messy or time consuming if you use enough coloring to begin with.

itscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itscake Posted 14 Nov 2009 , 4:21pm
post #3 of 16

If I am making mmf...I mix the colour into the water and add that to the marshmellow before nuking...then add the powdered sugar to the melted mixture..or you can take a small piece of the fondant once made and mix the colour into that and then knead the small piece into the larger piece...hope this helps

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 14 Nov 2009 , 4:24pm
post #4 of 16

re: powder sugar explosion --