Hi-Ratio Shortening Question

Decorating By jennbrownrigg Updated 6 Sep 2009 , 7:23pm by blessedist

jennbrownrigg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennbrownrigg Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 12:15pm
post #1 of 14

I bought some hi ratio shortening the other day and made my first batch of icing with it yesterday...The texture was fantastic BUT I hated the taste. I had added the butter extract which I have never used before so I'm not sure if it was that that I hated or the shortening. If I use the high ratio shortening in my normal recipe, (1/2 short 1/2 butter) will I get the normal buttery taste? I refuse to use that extract again....or does the high ratio shortening actually affect the taste?

TIA

13 replies
cnhiatt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cnhiatt Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 12:42pm
post #2 of 14

I make my buttercream with 1/2 butter, 1/2 hi-ratio shortening, and I think it tastes wonderful. It is a lot smoother than making the same icing with Crisco and butter, but it's not quite as smooth as making it with all shortening. However, I think the taste is worth it.

minicuppie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
minicuppie Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 12:57pm
post #3 of 14

Try Lorann's butter oil...or butivan...or princess emulsion...or..or.. there are lots of good substitutions for extract.

Gingoodies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gingoodies Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 1:56pm
post #4 of 14

I think it depends on the brand of shortening. I used CK high ratio and noticed a difference in the taste of my buttercream. Lately I find that using more flavoring (vanilla, almond, butter etc) makes a big difference. Just use the flavor you like best. I am going to research where to purchase Alpine or Sweetex hi ratio shortening in my area and give that a try.

jennbrownrigg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jennbrownrigg Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 2:12pm
post #5 of 14