? About Wilton Classes

Decorating By hobbymommy Updated 2 Aug 2009 , 2:52am by Carolynlovescake

hobbymommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hobbymommy Posted 1 Aug 2009 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 9

I've been decorating cakes now for 8 yrs & have never taken a class. I've been asked to do a wedding cake in Oct. ( a whole other thread I've just posted - Victorian....) and feel an overwhelming urge to get MORE experience in this. I do have dreams of owning my own shop someday when the kiddos are older. Here's the shocker, I don't even know how to do a basic BC rose/flower. The only flowers I've done are freehand drawn filled in w/star tips. I've also done the itty bitty royal icing flowers. I have the daisy cutters for fondant flowers but have never used them.

I want to take the Fondant & Tiered Cakes class....but, since I don't even know how to do the flowers, should I take the Flowers & Borders class first?

I'm a pretty quick learner & would love to just pay someone to come out to my home one day & just teach me a few flowers & discuss/demonstrate transporting & assembly of tiered cakes or I would even be willing to travel some. But I know that is probably not possible. I don't feel I need to start at Course I, but will if I must, but time is somewhat of an issue here. Also, I have a baby on dialysis at home nightly, so that is a big reason for only wanting to do ONE class.

Any thoughts? I'm in Northwestern Louisiana.

Thanks,
Crystal
SAHMommy to Madison (9, HLHS), Natalie (5, Healthy), Neveah (1, renal dysplasia), & 1 angel (m/c on 11/15/0icon_cool.gif

8 replies
AXOCutie143 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AXOCutie143 Posted 1 Aug 2009 , 6:51pm
post #2 of 9