Coldstone...worth My Time?

Decorating By whisperingmadcow Updated 13 Apr 2009 , 11:12pm by PinkZiab

whisperingmadcow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
whisperingmadcow Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 4:55pm
post #1 of 17

Alright! I need a little advice!

I am new to cake decorating and loving it. I resently applied for a position on craigslist that just said "cake decorater wanted" Turns out its at a Coldstone Creamery making ice cream cakes. My question is, is it worth my time?

I really want to get my foot in the door as far as cake decorating goes. I would love to work in one of the many shops in my area but I don't really have the resume experience to get the job. I also want to get some more experience with piping and with mass product. Can anyone give me a little advise one way or the other?

Thank you for your time!

16 replies
Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 5:10pm
post #2 of 17

No it really wouldn't be worth your time SHEEEESH

Mike

whisperingmadcow Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 5:17pm
post #3 of 17

mmm...why?

KawaiiCakeCook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KawaiiCakeCook Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 5:17pm
post #4 of 17

I had cold stone for my wedding cake, it was a great big hit, but I also had a fake cake to cut for the wedding. I wouldn't say this would be the place to learn about cake decorating.

daniassis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
daniassis Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 5:24pm
post #5 of 17

Hi, whisperingmadcow

I've never worked at Coldstone, but I imagine you wouldn't learn any advanced decorating skills there. With that said, you mentioned that you'd like to get experience with mass production. If that's the case, go for it!! Maybe do it part time only. It will help you learn what it takes to run a business smoothly and also time management.

PinkZiab Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkZiab Posted 13 Apr 2009 , 5:26pm
post #6 of 17