I Am So Mad!

Decorating By Maris307 Updated 18 Mar 2009 , 11:05pm by 7yyrt

Maris307 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Maris307 Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 10:12pm
post #1 of 22

I'm making my SIL's wedding cake in a couple of weeks. I've been baking a couple of different recipes to try them out. I've tried 4 so far so I think the problem is me or the oven. EVERY cake dips in the middle.

I just took out of the oven a chocolate WASC which I baked at 325 and even wrapped the Wilton baking strips around the pans. I can't afford (financially) to continue to make these mistakes.

Any ideas? The altitude here is about 5000 feet if that makes any difference. However, this isn't the first time I bake a cake. I've been making cakes consistently as a hobby for the past six years and I've never had this!

Please help.

21 replies
kaat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaat Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 10:20pm
post #2 of 22

How big are the cakes? Are you using anything to heat the center (heating core or flower nail)?

OhMyGanache Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OhMyGanache Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 10:32pm
post #3 of 22

You have to wait until the center is set before you open the oven or move the cake. Don't be tempted to peek in at it or it will sink.

michellesArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michellesArt Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 10:37pm
post #4 of 22

i think it would help to know what size cakes you are trying to bake-i haven't made anything bigger than a 1/4 slab at a time and i know that anything bigger requires those nails or baking core to distribute the heat to the middle (it would sink if it's not thouroughly cooked) hope that helps and i agree with ohmyganache too about not peeking or moving the cake icon_smile.gif

doreenre Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doreenre Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 10:43pm
post #5 of 22

i bake my cakes at 300...they cook more evenly IMHO.

Yazmin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Yazmin Posted 17 Mar 2009 , 10:59pm
post #6 of 22