Glycerine?

Decorating By ambolil Updated 9 Mar 2009 , 2:53pm by ambolil

ambolil Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ambolil Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 3:38am
post #1 of 9

THE BOTTLE SAYS IT IS USED TO RESORE THE COLOR OF ICING. HOW AND WHEN WOULD YOU USE THIS PRODUCT. (SORRY, I'M NEW TO ALL OF THIS).

8 replies
Shamitha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shamitha Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 4:02am
post #2 of 9

Hi.I use it to make fondant or sugarpaste . The recipe that I use requires 15ml. I was told that it's used for keeping the fondant soft & pliable.HTH icon_smile.gif

redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 5:15am
post #3 of 9

If your paste icing colors are dried out, you're supposed to be able to add some glycerine to fix the consistency. It's never worked for me, and I figure if the color is old enough to be drying out, I should probably spring a buck or two to replace it.

MissBaritone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissBaritone Posted 7 Mar 2009 , 8:31pm
post #4 of 9

You can use glycerine in royal icing to prevent it from drying so hard. You can also brush it over fondant if you want a nice shiney glaze

Creative_chika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Creative_chika Posted 8 Mar 2009 , 6:18am
post #5 of 9

I've noticed that when I make MMF without glycerine the color doesn't look as vivid. So I guess it does help with color.

dandelion56602 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dandelion56602 Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 4:59am
post #6 of 9

Like redpanda said, you're suppose to add to the color paste & restore it. I've done it successfully when I needed that color (it was one that came in a Wilton bday pack) and it worked like a charm. It did take more than I thought it would though

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 9 Mar 2009 , 5:07am
post #7 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpanda