Ideas For A Friends 36 Year Birthday??

Decorating By miscue Updated 28 Feb 2009 , 11:51am by Caths_Cakes

miscue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miscue Posted 15 Feb 2009 , 8:50am
post #1 of 13

I'm looking to make a cake for a girl at work who's turning around 36. I am just starting out, so I would love to practise and suprise her with a cake. Any ideas for something kinda easy?
I know she loves 'sex and the city', shoes, fashion etc, but I don't think i could model any of those things yet.... too hard for me.

12 replies
Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 15 Feb 2009 , 9:58am
post #2 of 13

theres a tutorial on youtube on how to make a pair of blue jeans cake, if she loves fashion i guess you could jazz the jeans up and make them more stylish. something like that icon_biggrin.gif

sugarwishes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarwishes Posted 15 Feb 2009 , 10:35am
post #3 of 13

I think you are underestimating yourself. The cakes you've done are really great and I think you could take on the things you described. For an idea, what about doing a shopping bag or shoebox cake. Or you can do a square or round cake and cut out buildings from fondant to go with the sex and the city theme, add a shoe, martini glass, gift bag, etc on top.

If you want to keep it a bit more simple, you can do a gift box or present cake using her favorite colors. I have a link to a really awesome tutorial on how to make a two-tone loopy bow.

HTH. Good Luck with the cake! Can't wait to see what you decided. icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 16 Feb 2009 , 2:11am
post #4 of 13

Do you have any cookie cutters in shapes of a shoe, any piece of clothing? Cut out your fondant.
OR find a nice sized pic on the internet or in a catalog and trace it on a piece of file card to use as a templet to cut around w/a sharp knife.

Ariginal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ariginal Posted 16 Feb 2009 , 2:15am
post #5 of 13