Stacked Cakes

Decorating By mrsclox Updated 30 Dec 2008 , 6:42pm by mrsclox

mrsclox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsclox Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 12:54am
post #1 of 10

Hello there! I have a question about supports for a stacked cake. I have worked with stacking different sized tears (ie 6" on a 9") but what I mean is, if I stack four or five 6"x2" cakes to make a 'tower' that is 8-10" high, do I need to put any dowels or boards in it so the bottom layers don't get squished? I do plan to put a dowel all the way through the center so it doesn't fall over. I hope that makes sense. Thanks in advance!

9 replies
saap1204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saap1204 Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 1:08am
post #2 of 10

I am not a professional but I believe you would have to have some sort of support between all those cakes--both boards and dowels. Hopefully this will bump you to the front where the experts will be able to help you.

Sheryl

sugarshack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarshack Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 2:32am
post #3 of 10

yes! you need a support system of some kind:

plate and pillars
boards and dowels; bubble tea straws
stress free rings
sps system

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 2:43am
post #4 of 10

One needs support for any amount over 4 or 5" of heigth....so put a cake board &/or plate along w/dowels, straws, or hidden pillars between each tier (4" of cake).

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 2:45am
post #5 of 10

yep. What kakeladi said.

summernoelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
summernoelle Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 2:59am
post #6 of 10

You must use dowels (not wooden-preferably SPS, or at least large, plastic tubes). You also must use boards under each cake. Plastic, foamcore, or cardboard that has been wrapped with wax paper. HTH!

IcedTea4Me2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IcedTea4Me2 Posted 30 Dec 2008 , 3:00am
post #7 of 10