Edible Image - Help Needed Urgently Please!

Decorating By say_it_with_cake Updated 7 Dec 2008 , 1:56am by say_it_with_cake

say_it_with_cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
say_it_with_cake Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 1:02pm
post #1 of 11

I have an edible image ready to place on my cake but can't seem to remove it from the backing paper without the image tearing!

I've never used one before, is there a trick to it? Could someone please tell me how to remove the backing paper? The cake is due tomorrow (it's 11pm here now!) and I'm about ready to give up and leave the backing in place! Please help!

10 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 1:39pm
post #2 of 11

Charmed, I do not know. I like your idea to leave the backing on. May be somebody smart will pipe up for you, I just didn't want to leave your post unanswered but I think leaving the backing on is a great plan. I know those images are either user friendly or very pesterful. The ones I've ever used were easy.

I love your quote on the bottom of your post!! It's so true!! And sometimes they are so clueless they don't even get how miraculous was thier effort because it was so natural and easy for them.

Blessings on you and your cake.

say_it_with_cake Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 1:41pm
post #3 of 11

Ok, after a bit of a search of the forums, I tried freezing it for a few minutes and sliding a knife underneath. The damn thing still kept tearing so I've had to leave the backing in place (thankfully the cake is for my dad and I'll be doing the cutting).

In my search though I did find comments about cover paper - mine only has backing, no cover. I'm just wondering if that's what the problem was because I'm very reluctant to waste money on one of these things again! Do they usually have cover paper?

Linliv46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Linliv46 Posted 6 Dec 2008 , 1:52pm
post #4 of 11