My Gosh I Stink At This...

Baking By rocketmom1985 Updated 20 Nov 2008 , 1:44pm by Donnagardner

rocketmom1985 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rocketmom1985 Posted 16 Nov 2008 , 7:34pm
post #1 of 16

my cookies look like a 5 year old did them, and that is being unkind to the kid!

When am I gonna get the hang of this...? How long did some of you have to practice in order for your cookies to look decent...by decent I mean, someone would PAY money for them icon_lol.gif?

Should I just get some cardboard practice rounds and pipe til I get better? Jeesh, my hand shakes I am so intent. I know they are just cookies, but duh, I really would like to perfect this craft! icon_redface.gif

Anybody have any tips?

15 replies
cakedesigner59 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedesigner59 Posted 16 Nov 2008 , 8:06pm
post #2 of 16

I don't have any advice, other than to practice. I'm new at cookies too, and I so want to be TracyLH when I grow up (and I'm nearly 50, so I guess I'd better hurry). My hand shakes too. And I don't drink, LOL. I do think you get better with practice, if that's any encouragement. My first cake looked pretty bad too, as I recall.

Joanne914 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Joanne914 Posted 16 Nov 2008 , 8:27pm
post #3 of 16

rocketmom1985...do not despair...you WILL get better, I promise! I've been decorating cookies now for a couple of years, and I learn something new EVERY day! Every day I read a comment, or see a pic, here at CC, I think, "OH, I want to try that!" And I do!! Practice is what makes us all better, and everybody here at CC is so amazing at offering help. I know that everything I've learned is from the kind people on this site, who freely give their wisdom and help. Keep at it, and you too will get better! We look forward to seeing your cookies, they will be great!