I Wish People Would Understand.....(Long Rant, Sorry)

Decorating By Callyssa Updated 14 Nov 2008 , 7:13pm by Callyssa

Callyssa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Callyssa Posted 10 Nov 2008 , 3:34pm
post #1 of 30

....that a small change in plans for them that seems harmless can make a big difference to someone else (especially ME!)

I'm one who has to have everything planned out and in order in order for me to function at my best, so when someone says they need their cupcakes (which I don't charge for as I'm getting my experience right now) on Monday the 9th, changing at the last minute to Sunday afternoon really throws me off! I am also a nail tech and have a salon at my home so my Saturdays are reserved for nail clients. But then, the nail clients don't realize that being even a few minutes late, or deciding at the last minute to add an extra service can throw my whole schedule off, and my entire day can become chaos.

My husband and I had planned to take our first swing dancing class on Friday to celebrate our 21st anniversary, and because of these "small" changes to my schedule, I had to stay home, get fondant made and colored, get my salon in order for Sat. for my sister who hadn't even planned to have her nails done, but changed her mind at the last minute; was supposed to be just visiting so I booked no other clients.

We go to church on Sundays, so I just wasn't willing to take the chance on doing the cupcakes when we got home, then find out there might be needed even earlier than stated on Sunday.

To top it all off my husband agreed to going to dinner with friends on Sat. night, so I ended up staying up half the night getting the cupcakes finished after we got home.