Icing Cake The Night Before....

Decorating By jcaste Updated 6 Nov 2008 , 11:04pm by kandu001

jcaste Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jcaste Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 4:56am
post #1 of 16

I am preparing for a cake I will decorate tomorrow night to deliver Friday morning. Cakes were baked Tuesday night & placed in freezer. Im "trying" to make MMF for the first time, having few difficulties. I also made some buttercream icing. Can I cover the cake in icing & place in freezer??

Im trying to make it easier on myself. Im a newbie & have only made a few cakes since I have started learning how to decorate cakes (since Sept). In the past I would do everything from scratch the night before it had to be delivered & it was too exhausting. ANy advice?

15 replies
sayhellojana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sayhellojana Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 5:18am
post #2 of 16

I read your other thread about MMF, so hopefully the advice on there will help.

A lot of ladies on this site swear by freezing cakes. I, personally, avoid it at all costs. If you buttercream your cake and place it in an airtight container, like a cake carrier, you will have no worries. Even if you dont buttercream your cake you can do that. Generally, once icing is on a cake you dont have to worry about it getting dry because the icing will protect it.
Also, don't freeze fondant. Just too many things to go wrong there.

jcaste Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 5:46am
post #3 of 16

ok awesome!! thanks once AGAIN!! you are my hero! icon_razz.gif

i will ice my cake tonight & smooth it out then place it in my cake carrier to be ready to decorate tomorrow.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 2:02pm
post #4 of 16

I always bake early int he week and get cakes in the freezer at least overnight. And cakes are ALWAYS completed the night prior to delivery.

butterfly831915 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterfly831915 Posted 6 Nov 2008 , 2:35pm
post #5 of 16