I'm A Newbie! Just A Couple ?'s!

Decorating By bchristianson17 Updated 11 Oct 2008 , 9:56pm by Cake_Princess

bchristianson17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bchristianson17 Posted 11 Oct 2008 , 7:04am
post #1 of 7

Hi, I'm new! *waves

I've looked through a lot of the pics on this site and read a lot of the forums, but I still have a couple questions that I hope someone can help me with! I'm new to the "at-home professional cake" thing, I've made extremely amateur cakes for birthdays and such, but my boyfriends 21st is coming up in March and I want to do a great cake for him!
After finding this website, I've also become REALLY excited about doing cakes for every holiday, celebration and holiday!! . . When I have a chance to learn something new & fun(hopefully!), I get a lil gung-ho about it! .. to the point that I've already saved a whole bunch of photos from the galleries for ideas for every occasion in the next 2 years. . haha. icon_lol.gif
Anyways, I've babbled enough. . these are the questions! Any input or ideas is greatly appreciated as I am extremely new to this and don't have an ego, it's all about learning to make the best cakes I can!!

1. Checking The Cake For Doneness. .
I have always used the old tradition of shoving a toothpick or end of a butterknife into the center to see if it comes out gooey=not done. But then I read something online, from a professional cake decorator, that said they use the look/pinch test. Its where you check to see if its barely turning golden and if so, then you take a teeny pinch off the center of the cake. If the pinch is gooey but underneath where you pinched, you see the structure of the cake is set(looks like a sponge), then it is ready to be taken out. The theory is that the heat that will still come up from the bottom after you've taken it out will bake the last 1/4 inch that wasn't done. Which of these is correct? Or is there another method that has proven to be more effective?