Cake Timeline

Decorating By alaurence Updated 1 Oct 2008 , 3:04pm by becklynn

alaurence Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alaurence Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 1:22pm
post #1 of 18

I'm new to doing cakes and I'm trying to figure out what the timeline for doing one from start to finish should be. I know ideally doing in all over a long day would be great, but I can't. Given that I'm working out of my home on evenings with only a few hours at a time to work, how should the process be broken down? I'm not sure about freezing, refrigerating, leaving cakes on the counter and ruining them, etc.

If there's a party or wedding on Saturday, when should I:

- bake the cakes
- torte, fill and crumb coat
- ice
- decorate

And what is the proper way to store the cake in between the steps? Does this differ if a cake is iced in buttercream vs. fondant? I would hate to do all this work and screw up the cake by storing it improperly. The buttercream recipe I use has butter and heavy cream, so I want to make sure I'm also maintaining proper food safety.

Thanks for you help in advance.

17 replies
Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 30 Sep 2008 , 1:28pm
post #2 of 18

Wow, sounds like my thinking! Anyway, I can only speak for myself. I work 68 + hours a week so, I have to be real careful about managing time.
What I do is:
Bake sometimes a week ahead but never more than that
Freeze till the day before I decide to crumb coat and torte
Wrap tightly in saran wrap before freezing/leave in place while defrosting
Defrost unfrosted cake at least 12 hours before decorating
Frost night before
Freeze BC coated/decorated cake till night before event if I didn't originally freeze it but don't wrap it till it is frozen.
Fondant day off or night before.
Some people, even professionals like Peggy Porchen, leave their fondant covered cakes out for days. I myself have never tried freezing fondant, so I usually do that last.