Newbie Here...need Buttercream Advice (Sorry!)

Decorating By LisaD923 Updated 30 Sep 2008 , 3:36am by SeriousCakes

LisaD923 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaD923 Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 6:37pm
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone,
I'm so sorry to be posting what has probably been asked and answered a million times, but I'm new to cake decorating (w/in the past 6 mos- 1yr) and need your help. icon_redface.gif

Ok, I have a basic chocolate buttercream that my family/friends love...basically it's 2 sticks (sorry I had 4 sticks that's not right!!!), 1/2 c crisco, 1 lb plus confec sugar, little vanilla, dash salt, melted chocolate.

It slightly crusts and the taste is really good...of course I'm open to new recipes if you have ones to offer!

Couple of questions:
1. if using the recipe stated above, does a cake iced with this need to be refrigerated? How long can it sit out? few hours, few days, etc?

2. I often see people talking about using heavy cream or water in their buttercreams. Are these stable enough to sit out or do they need to be refrigerated?

3. I have a friend that wants to take one of my choc layer cakes on a 3 hr road trip. Will a plastic cake carrier work or will the buttercream "melt" in one? Should a cake box be used?

4. Any additional tips/recipes that might help me out here?

Basically looking for a very stable, yet yummy buttercream (choc and plain) that is stable to sit out and can be decorated with.

Sorry so many questions...please forgive the newbie! Looking forward to learning from you all!!! icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
mandifrye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandifrye Posted 29 Sep 2008 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 5

First off, welcome to CC. You will find tons of information and great support here!