Wiltons Fondant

Decorating By kaabruur19 Updated 27 Aug 2008 , 7:08pm by xstitcher

kaabruur19 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaabruur19 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 3:11am
post #1 of 11

Im doing a buttercream cake and i plan on putting little fondant shapes on it for decoration. I bought the already made white fondant. Ive never used it before. Whats the best way to color it? Do i just place it on the cake right away or do i need to lay it out to dry or bake it first? Thanks in advance for any replies!

10 replies
PollyMaggs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PollyMaggs Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 3:47am
post #2 of 11

I am a newbie too, but from what I've learned here...

1st - color your fondant by using a tooth pick dipped into your color, wipe it on the fondant and knead...repeat until you reach the color you want...using a new tooth pick each time.

2nd - you can place the decor on the cake as soon as you ice it if they are going to lay down on the cake. If they are to stand up on the cake let them dry for about 24 hours.

you dont want to bake your fondant...you can speed the drying by placing it under a light bulb but that is it.

Like I said I am a newbie too, but I hope I helped.
good luck and keep asking questions, the people here are great and will help all they can. They have taught me alot.
Polly

kaabruur19 Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 3:59am
post #3 of 11

thanks so much for replying, that helps a lot! can i make my fondant ahead of time? The cake is for sunday so if i made them say tomorrow and let it harden, will it go bad?

JennaB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennaB Posted 27 Aug 2008 , 4:13am
post #4 of 11