Filling Question (I'm A Filling Newbie!)

Decorating By clopin0 Updated 16 Aug 2008 , 5:51pm by jibbies

clopin0 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
clopin0 Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 5:29am
post #1 of 9

I have a cake to do for Monday that needs strawberry filling with chantilly cream frosting. I will probably use a stabilized whipped cream for the frosting, but need some help with the filling. I've used preserves before, but the cake did not hold - it kept wanting to slide. I do not have a bakery supply anywhere near me where I could buy a sleeve of filling. I'm looking for something easy, preferably a filling that does not need to be cooked, so here are a few questions.

1. Can I use strawberry pie filling? If so, does it need to be thickened(how would I do this if it needs to be)?
2. Would strawberry jam hold better than preserves?
3. Should I do a dam in buttercream or will the stabilized whipped cream suffice?
4. Should I do a thin layer of buttercream or stabilized whipped cream on each layer before spreading the filling?

If you have any other suggestions, they would be appreciated. Thanks for the help!

8 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 6:06am
post #2 of 9

Jam or preserves will both work fine, just don't put in too much filling.

If you buttercream between the layers, the filling will cause maximum slippage.

maude Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maude Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 9:34am
post #3 of 9

I used strawberry spread (Welch's) on a cake I did a few weeks ago.It worked fine and did not slip or soak into the cake. If you don't put it on very thick it should do fine.

clopin0 Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 9:07pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks for the responses. I've done preserves with a layer of buttercream, and there was indeed maximum slippage! I think I'll try the Welch's spread.

Tashablueyes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tashablueyes Posted 15 Aug 2008 , 10:04pm
post #5 of 9