Help! My Aunt Cant Make My Wedding Cake And No Money Left

Decorating By shandidandi Updated 22 May 2008 , 2:52pm by CarolAnn

shandidandi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shandidandi Posted 20 May 2008 , 6:10pm
post #1 of 76

My aunt was going to make my cake and now she cant. icon_cry.gif I have made cakes before but not a wedding one and there is not enough money left to have someone else do it. I want a four tier square with fondant and gum paste flowers. I have never worked w fondant before. I would like to put the diamond pattern on it. How hard is it to use the pattern? How thick does it need to be? How far in advance can I place the fondant on the cake, can it be froze? Help please!!!

75 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 20 May 2008 , 6:17pm
post #2 of 76

wow..... not to burst your bubble or anything but square cakes are complex, as is fondant. And gumpaste flowers take a while to learn. Will she let you use her pans and equipment or do you have your own?

If you have access to equipment and the wedding is not around the corner, you could practice, practice, practice but I think it's alot to take on when you are the bride AND the one making the cake. I think, unfortunately, if the budget is gone, you may need to come up with something different for the cake.

Maybe get inexpensive white frosted cupcakes and add a cute little fresh flower to the top of each one? That would be affordable and do-able......probably not what you want though. I do wish you the best of luck and am sorry this happened. icon_smile.gif

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 20 May 2008 , 6:20pm
post #3 of 76