What Is Your Style And How Did You Find It?

Decorating By pamconn Updated 19 May 2008 , 9:28pm by tiptop57

pamconn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pamconn Posted 17 May 2008 , 3:35pm
post #1 of 23

How long did it take for you to find your style? Did you just realize one day that most of your cakes were fondant or buttercream and you had a certain way for borders and figures and flowers? Since I am just beginning I don't really know what I like yet and don't feel like I've found my way.

22 replies
kimberlina25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimberlina25 Posted 17 May 2008 , 8:25pm
post #2 of 23

i have found that when i browsing the gallery or a cake mag, that certain types of cakes stand out to me. i am just drawn to those type of cakes, and they are mostly the kind of cakes i make, i just prefer them.

HTH thumbs_up.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 17 May 2008 , 8:55pm
post #3 of 23

Sometimes it's a lot of personal preference on what you like to do. Contrary to most people, I LUV doing square cakes, especially square basketweave .... so you will see a lot of square cakes in my pics. WHen I get an undecided bride, I guess I tend to push the square cakes. I counted up once, and of 19 consecutive wedding cakes, 15 of them were square.

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 17 May 2008 , 9:08pm
post #4 of 23

Debi -

I love to do square cakes, too! I get into the challenge of making those corners absolutely right-angle!

My forte seems to be gumpaste flowers. I find them very easy to do. I studied GP flowers under Kim Morrison, Ron Ben-Israel, Betty Van Norstrand, and Toba Garrett, so I have taken features from all their teachings and applied them into my own system. Callas are currently my favorite to do.