Help Please!!! Price Question On Wilton Basketweave Cake

Decorating By Malakin Updated 26 Mar 2008 , 6:25am by miny

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 25 Mar 2008 , 11:21pm
post #1 of 10

I have been asked to do the cake below. (I hope the pic downloads right) It is one I did in my Wilton Class II final, the basketweave with the Royal icing flowers. I am at work and have no idea on what to charge....I've never been asked what my price would be for a cake. I can't even remember what size this oval cake is.....Any suggestions on pricing secondary to my sub-par experience is welcome. I'm just beginning and don't know what to say to this lady. She didn't even take a bit of the one her friend received of the same. She wanted it made anyway. It is white cake, raspberry filling with BC and Royal icing flowers. Thanks!!!
LL

9 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 25 Mar 2008 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 10

That's the smallest oval - about 7x5 - using one cake mix total for 2 layers (maybe less?)
The flowers don't have to be royal....many can be made from b'cream ahead and left out to air-dry. Only lilies & daisies are best made w/royal.
As for pricing - I suggest $25-35. I don't know how much prices have gone up in the past 6 months. A yr ago I'd get $20-25 for it.

deanwithana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deanwithana Posted 25 Mar 2008 , 11:39pm
post #3 of 10

I don't know much about pricing but measured the pan and hope it helps someone to help you. I just finished this course myself and it is 8 x 6 inches oval.

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 25 Mar 2008 , 11:39pm
post #4 of 10

I would not charge that cake for less than $45 to $50 ... It has a lot of work involved..
Edna icon_biggrin.gif

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 25 Mar 2008 , 11:39pm
post #5 of 10

I would not charge that cake for less than $45 to $50 ... It has a lot of work involved..