Age 70+ And Still Doing Cakes?

Business By handymama Updated 20 Sep 2007 , 12:00pm by apclassicwed

handymama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
handymama Posted 14 Sep 2007 , 10:45pm
post #1 of 18

Please tell us, how long have you been a decorator? Does it provide at least part of your income? Is it still fun or would you rather not be doing it?
Thanks a bunch.

17 replies
SueBuddy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueBuddy Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 1:12am
post #2 of 18

I have been decorating as my full time job for about 5 years now. I worked in a grocery store for close to 3 years and now in a specialty bakery for 2 and a half years. I LOVE IT!! (Well most of the time anyway!) I started by working at a royal icing candy decoration factory and it made me want to take classes so I took the 3 wilton courses. I got a job at a bakery as counter help but took over the cake decorating when they needed someone to replace the decorator that quit, and that was that. I was hooked! and knew I didn't want to do anything else.

DiannaSue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DiannaSue Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 1:26am
post #3 of 18