Anyone Else Self/cc Taught?

Decorating By Derby Updated 14 Nov 2006 , 4:46pm by FLOWERGEL

gakali Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gakali Posted 13 Nov 2006 , 9:42pm
post #31 of 41

I am self-taught too. I learned (still learning icon_smile.gif) from books by Carol Deacon and Debbie Brown....and of course, from Cake Central! I started about a year ago.

Ladyofcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladyofcake Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 3:53am
post #32 of 41

I am also self-taught, but hope to take a course in culinary school when my daughter (1 year) is ready to let me out of the house for so long, LOL... :O)

I started cooking and baking when I was just a kid and lately have learned a lot from CC and books - I also learned from trial and error by applying other skills I picked up over the years (mehendi art, painting, embroidery, sewing, crafts, etc.) as they all are easily transferred over to cake decorating. I think it's more fun and gives you a unique edge to come up with your own special look.

Shalan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shalan Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 4:05am
post #33 of 41

I am self taught. I made my first wilton character/shape cake at age 12 from instructions and a pan that my grandmother had and have been hooked ever since. I have been decorating cakes for about 16 years now and didn't take wilton classes until about three years ago. I just wanted to see what I didn't know and to brush up on some of my flower techniques. The first class was very boring to me, but the others were ok. making different kinds of flowers and working with fondant. But like someone said on this post, it is good to have those certificates of completion hanging on your wall for people to see. thumbs_up.gif

FLOWERGEL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FLOWERGEL Posted 14 Nov 2006 , 4:09am
post #34 of 41

hi
ladies your cakes here are beautiful i checked them before senting this