First Fbct. What Did I Do Wrong???

Decorating By formerbuckeye Updated 12 Aug 2007 , 1:14am by formerbuckeye

formerbuckeye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
formerbuckeye Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:25pm
post #1 of 10

This is my first attempt with a FBCT and may be my last if I can't figure ou what I did wrong. I used the recommended icing, but it just turned out looking sloppy. I did not outline in black, but outlined each section in the color it would be. Suggestions please! I see so many on CC that are wonderful but I am very unhappy with my first attempt.

Thanks,
Sandra
LL

9 replies
chestercheeto Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chestercheeto Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:32pm
post #2 of 10

i think outlining in a different color, black or a darker shade of the same color, would give it more definition.

gdixoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gdixoncakes Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:36pm
post #3 of 10

I think it looks GREAT for your first try. But I too am challenged sometimes because I get texture in mine. So, next time, maybe after you have completed it and put the wax paper on top, gently push down on it with you fingers/hands so that the icing fills in the crevices and looks smooth.

gdixoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gdixoncakes Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:39pm
post #4 of 10

My 5-year old daughter just saw it, and LOVES it. She said she wants that cake for her next birthday and she's picky so see, you did a really beautiful job!

JanetPlanet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanetPlanet Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:41pm
post #5 of 10

Go read the thread on Crisco problems if you used that in your recipe... it was mentioned there that people were having runny FBCT problems since Crisco changed their formula to eliminate trans-fats.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 11 Aug 2007 , 10:49pm
post #6 of 10