11 X 15 Sheet Cake - 2 Cake Mixes?

Decorating By midwestmom Updated 25 Jan 2014 , 12:34pm by cole10

midwestmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
midwestmom Posted 25 Apr 2007 , 8:00pm
post #1 of 18

I just bought a Wilton 11x15 sheet pan. The instructions that came with the pan says to use 11 cups of batter. It also says that one cake mix yields 4-6 cups batter.

How does everyone else make 11x15 sheet cakes? I was going to make the CMD's Darn Good Chocolate Cake. It calls for 1 cup of sour cream & a box of instant pudding & four eggs. It seems excessive to make two of these, but is that what I need to do? I usually use milk instead of water, but with a cake this big, will it make it too moist, where it might fall in the middle?

Any tips or suggestions you can give me would be appreciated. I only make cakes for family birthdays so that's just a few times a year, so I'm still fairly new at all this. Thanks in advance!

17 replies
dolfin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dolfin Posted 25 Apr 2007 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 18

I made an 11 x 15 this weekend with the extender recipie . I only used one batch of extender recipie with 2 box mixes and the cake came out nice and tall, moist and a little denser than usual but it was really good. I wrapped baking strips around pan and used 2 inverted flour nails in middle and baked at 325 for 1 hour and it came out perfect. hth

jenbenjr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenbenjr Posted 25 Apr 2007 , 9:53pm
post #3 of 18

You definately need 2 boxes to get a nice size cake. I always use two and add a box of pudding to each and an extra egg to each.

vww104 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vww104 Posted 26 Apr 2007 , 1:03am
post #4 of 18

When I use the 11x15 I usually bake two and fill. I found that using 1.5 mixes was the perfect amount.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 26 Apr 2007 , 1:57am
post #5 of 18

2 mixes

Solecito Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile