Dawn's Sugarveil Recipe

Decorating By JQ102 Updated 17 Feb 2015 , 8:03pm by nellirosas

JQ102 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JQ102 Posted 13 Jan 2015 , 7:39pm
post #1 of 4

Hello cakers, this may be a really silly question but bear with me as I'm relatively new to caking.

I've spent quite a bit on tools etc. and wanted to save money making my own edibles where possible. So I made Dawn's recipe (followed religiously) which I found on here (thank you) and unbelieveably they set and better still I was able to remove the lace without breaking - result!  So the question is, are they meant to taste of rubber, not my sort of thing to eat rubber...!! 

So I guess it's the tylose, but I can't help wondering if eaters are meant to remove them from cupcakes, cakes etc. before consuming - in my humble opinion that doesn't make any sense.  I had some RI and added a little to a spoonful and tried on the mould but it won't spread properly and I simply do not have enough knowledge to figure this out myself.

Have I got an old recipe and if not how do people eat this OR how can I make it edible and does the 'real' sugarveil/lace taste of rubber?

1 Tbsp Tylose

1/4 cup BOILING Water – (I used ¾ cup)

1Tbsp confectioner sugar

2 level tbsp corn starch

1/4 tsp meringue powder/egg white powder

1/2 tsp. corn syrup

Pinch of white icing color or one of your choice color

Any insight anyone can provide would be welcomed with open arms.  Thanks

3 replies
teacheribis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
teacheribis Posted 29 Jan 2015 , 5:46pm
post #2 of 4

I never made this recipe, but something sound terribly wrong.  Tylose doesn't have a real distinctive taste to it. I mean it sort of tastes like cornstarch. Totally edible, but with that being said, I wouldn't eat a bunch of sweets with it.

cakebaby2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaby2 Posted 29 Jan 2015 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 4