Best Way To Fix A Cake That Didn't Come Out Of The Pan Nicely

Baking By Aliceinde Updated 2 Jun 2016 , 9:05pm by Aliceinde

Aliceinde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aliceinde Posted 2 Jun 2016 , 2:42pm
post #1 of 12

Okay I would like some opinion/help here.  I am an amateur baker and have been into baking for about a year and a half now.  I baked a 12 inch butter cake and when I took the cake out of the pan there was a small section on the bottom that stuck to the pan.  I saved the part that stuck and I am thinking I can just use icing to patch it into the spot.  Then I plan to ice it with buttercream and then cover it with fondant.  

My question - is this the best way to fix it or would it be better to just cut the whole cake down a bit (I would freeze the cakes a bit to get them hard enough to just cut it down as the whole cake seems to be very moist and I can bet it would fall apart even more if I don't freeze it first).

If I just try to patch it with the icing my worry is that it will make for an uneven finish after I put my fondant on it when I put pressure on the cake to smooth it out with the fondant on it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

11 replies
johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 2 Jun 2016 , 3:35pm
post #2 of 12

By all means, "glue" in the broken part with a little icing.

Next, invent $3 in some parchment paper. Transitions from amateur to experienced baker says you will discover it is awesome! Pull out a length of parchment, lay down your cake pan and trace around it with a pencil or alcohol marker. Now cut away the lines so you have a "clean" circle (or square). Lay the paper inside (OK if not cut perfectly, but be sure it doesn't go up the sides, just the bottom) and prep your pans. Bake as usual.

Parchment makes the cakes easy to handle, prevents small sticking spots, and even adds an extra layer if freezing.The process only adds 2 minutes to your prep time...I swear.