Trouble With Pricing, Opinions Please!

Business By kcampeau Updated 28 Feb 2016 , 10:09pm by costumeczar

kcampeau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kcampeau Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 12:31pm
post #1 of 6

I am a home baker and set my prices based on ingredients and time. I have a big matrix I used. I was at $3 per slice for BC and $4 for fondant that included some decorating included and i used Earlenes chart as I mainly do party cakes and found that to be more accurate.

So for example a 6" and 8" that feeds about 25 with bottom in BC and top in fondant I would charge $90 for.

Well I have been slow to fill up and I recently found out that similar cakes are going for $60 among other home based baking businesses.

Now I am stumped. Maybe I am a slow decorator but based on my pricing matrix that would be TIGHT.

But then again, I know people who have received a quote from me are going to these other bakers because I see the cakes they asked me to quote being made on these other peoples facebook pages.

What would you do? Would you lower to match their prices and get more bookings or stay higher with no real reason why. There cakes are just as pretty.

Help please I am feeling super discouraged.

5 replies
MsLiaJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsLiaJ Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 1:49pm
post #2 of 6

Hi! I too am I home baker and have the same troubles. What I've learned though is to not cheat yourself! If you do lower the price I would only go $75. 

kayra850 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kayra850 Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 2:15pm
post #3 of 6

Hi. I am also home baker. Price depende on ingrediens, size, but mostly on time and effort that you put in it. Also depende if you relly need that money, then  I guess, you will sell it litlle under price. I bake more for hoby and collect money for that, so… .I put my price, no matter what other think. I advice you to do the same. Put your price and wait for a customer. Never forget that our cakes is art.