Stylized Wedding Photo Shoot

Business By Gingerlocks Updated 29 Feb 2016 , 4:55pm by Gingerlocks

Gingerlocks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Gingerlocks Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 3:15am
post #1 of 3

I'm just wondering if anyone has ever done stylized wedding photo shoots? I was recently asked to do one and while I only have a few years under my belt in the cake decorating world; I'm fairly new to the whole "publishing /  photo shoot" side of it. 

Mostly I'm just wondering how much creative control the decorator should have in the process? I feel like I should have some input into how I would like to present my work; however, I was basically told "make a naked cake or we'll find someone else". So I ended up passing up this particular opportunity. I'm not sure if that was a bad idea or not; how much creative control is normal in these types of situations?

Honestly I'm so over doing naked cakes and that is not the kind of work I would like to highlight to potential customers, even if they are popular at the moment. I wanted to show off my technical and creative skills and the photographer just wasn't interested at all. They didn't have a publication for this particular shoot yet, and she believed the only way to get into local bridal magazines was with a naked cake..I have no idea why she was so set on that idea, but I couldn't convince her otherwise. How much creative control is normal in this kind of situation?

2 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 28 Feb 2016 , 10:23pm
post #2 of 3

Photo shoots are mostly beneficial to the photographer, because they get the pictures to use in their portfolios. I've never done one that got me a bit of business, and big deal if they get published somewhere. It means nothing in the long run.