Needing Help On Deciding What/how To Charge For A Dessert Bar/buffet

Business By PatienceCheyann Updated 13 Jan 2016 , 2:31am by -K8memphis

PatienceCheyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatienceCheyann Posted 8 Jan 2016 , 9:46pm
post #1 of 8

Hi! I was asked to cater desserts for a high school prom for around 200 people. Just a little background on myself, I'm 18 and this is the first actual catering event I will be doing! I've always baked for people and cakes and other desserts for birthday parties and smaller events and for family so I have no idea where to start pricing wise for something like this. Also, I graduated from the high school I will be catering for, this is how I got the job/gig, all the teachers and staff know I love to bake.

Anyways, what I had in mind desserts wise based off of them telling me buffet style/finger desserts:
-Variety of cookies

-Mini cupcakes

-Brownie bites

-Cake balls

-Chocolate dipped items(school student body choice)

I'm not for sure if I should add anything else to the dessert list, they said to keep it fairly simple. Prom is April 16, 2016 and their prom theme is "Bow Ties and Pearls" so I'm trying to stick to that decoration wise.

Any advice about anything would be greatly appreciated!!(: Thank you!!

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 8 Jan 2016 , 11:17pm
post #2 of 8

additional finger food ideas -- fudge, pecan sassies, rice krispie treats -- i think a total of 3-4 choices is enough -- so you'd do 200 of each -- too many choices means they want one of each -- i'd avoid anything that requires refrigeration since this is your first gig --