Friend's Want Me To Start A Business - No Thanks

Lounge By swishykitty Updated 24 Jan 2016 , 5:48am by Magda_MI

swishykitty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
swishykitty Posted 6 Dec 2015 , 3:26am
post #1 of 16

I am a hobby baker - I bake for friends, family, and fun.  I have had a lot of friends and acquaintances say that I should start a legitimate baking business - there are cottage food regulations where I live.  This is very flattering, but I do not think that my skills are up to par to be start a business, and quite frankly, after reading about all the hassles of a home based business, I am not sure that I need the extra stress.  I thank my friends  for their vote of confidence, but I am happy doing what I do.  My dilemma is that I have received 3 phone calls in the past 2 weeks from people who have been referred by my friends, that want me to do cakes for them.  I have explained that I am not in business, and thanks for their interest, but no thanks. My friends think that they are doing me a favor, I have asked them not to, that I am too busy with my regular job and family to start such an en-devour.  The call today was from a lady who saw one of my cakes at a friend's party at a restaurant and went over to get a taste of it.  She said it was the best cake that she had ever tasted, thanks so much, and I had to do a cake for her, umm, no thanks.  

So, not really a question, more of a sounding board, I don't want to totally alienate my friends, but they are being a bit pushy about this whole business thing.   So just for fun, how did you know when to make the shift from hobby to legit,.  Was it worthwhile; monetarily, stress-wise, time-wise.  

15 replies
Cher2309b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cher2309b Posted 6 Dec 2015 , 8:03am
post #2 of 16