Fondant Tool Size?

Decorating By LouisNutri Updated 8 Sep 2015 , 9:58am by LouisNutri

LouisNutri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LouisNutri Posted 3 Sep 2015 , 12:37pm
post #1 of 15

Hi. I'm just starting out on fondant (just made my first batch of marshmallow fondant today!) and now I'm wondering if it's worth the investment/money to purchase fondant/modelling tools? The online shop I've been "window shopping" on recently went on sale with a 10-pc MINI modelling/fondant tool set from $3 to $2.50. There is also an 8-pc regular sized modelling/fondant tool set for $5. Would either of the two be worth it? And also, will size matter with tools for fondant? I'm planning to order some things I've been coveting for a while and want to make it just one ship. Here is a pic of the 8-pc modelling set.

10268716_266712786842852_9212793052404858299_n.jpg?oh=d37a074337bf4db83d4795f36d4a357a&oe=566A1A46

14 replies
640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
640Cake Posted 3 Sep 2015 , 1:44pm
post #2 of 15

I can't see your picture.  However, the cheap set I purchased is good for texturing, so I am glad I got it, but you'll want to order a quality ball tool (metal - no seam) for smoothing edges of cut-outs or doing flowers.  The ball tool in my set has a seam, so it's completely useless to me.

As far as "mini" or regular, I think that would be your preference as far as what you are comfortable holding.  If you can handle a short pencil, the mini might be okay.   You might have more control with the regular set, but that would be a personal preference.   HTH

*Last edited by 640Cake on 3 Sep 2015 , 1:56pm
Brookebakescake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brookebakescake Posted 3 Sep 2015 , 2:56pm
post #3 of 15

I don't know where you are, but have you looked at local shops? If you use a coupon at Joann's for instance, you can usually get a good deal.