Refrigerating Fondant

Decorating By bupaloo Updated 21 Jul 2015 , 9:27am by julia1812

bupaloo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bupaloo Posted 20 Jul 2015 , 11:00am
post #1 of 6

Sincere apologies if this has already been answered elshewhere. Pls fell free to delete this post and redirect me.

I am a hbbby baker. My best friend has asked me to do her wedding cake. It will be a two tier, chocolated mud cake with cream cheese filling. I use ready made chocolate icing to crumb coat ( I work full and time have two toddlers in the house. It's easier and cheaper to use ready frosting than to make ganache). My question is this. In Greece the weather is extremely hot at the moment. The venue is about a 30min drive from my house. (I don't have time to fondant cover the cakes and stack, on the day of the wedding, as I am working). If I refrigerate the cake after its done (crumb coated and fondant covered) and take it out to take to the venue, will the heat tear up my fondant? How can I prevent it from sweating and coming apart? I will be using the car's ac on the way to the venue, but will that be enough?? I am so stressed, I feel sick :(

5 replies
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 20 Jul 2015 , 1:15pm
post #2 of 6

First of all, take a deep breath and relax.  Don't make yourself sick, you have too much to do. : )  My first question would be, is the reception going to be inside or outside?  Is there refrigeration available for the cake until the reception?

If the only heat you're concerned about is during transport, you'll be ok. You can refrigerate fondant cakes, but I would only do it if it's in a box wrapped in plastic wrap.  That way, when you take it out any condensation will be on the outer wrapping and not the cake itself. Transporting in a cool car won't hurt it.