Questions About A Wedding Cake

Decorating By aford917 Updated 16 Jun 2015 , 3:15pm by Annie8

aford917 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aford917 Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 3:00pm
post #1 of 11

Hi!  I have been asked to make this wedding cake and I assume the petals are made with gum paste. I was wondering if anyone may have any tips about making the petals?  Should I just roll the gum paste, cut and form (and hope for the best :) )? Also, how long would be suggested to let them dry (to keep their form) but still be pliable enough to bend slightly to put on the cake? Should I let them dry at all before putting them on? I have only worked with gum paste once and it was never all over a cake!  I'm in the high humidity season here, too!  Thanks!

10 replies
geekycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
geekycakes Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 3:53pm
post #2 of 11

Can you include a picture, or a link to a picture?

I have some experience with gum paste.

aford917 Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 4:46pm
post #3 of 11

I was trying to, but it wouldn't let me do that or reply to add it!  I'm trying again now...hopefully with success! :)  https://www.pinterest.com/pin/64387469648341035/

aford917 Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 4:47pm
post #4 of 11

Yay! Success!! :)

geekycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
geekycakes Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 4:59pm
post #5 of 11

I suspect those petals are made with fondant, not gumpaste.  Gumpaste will dry hard.

You could, in theory, make gumpaste petals by forming them around a cake dummy or something, but I'm guessing fondant, or fondant with some gum powder worked into it, is a better choice.

PattyT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PattyT Posted 15 Jun 2015 , 6:09pm
post #6 of 11

I'm glad you posted the photo, because I thought it was the style where they cover the cake with single rose petals.

That is one very beautiful cake.