Pricing, Pricing, Pricing!

Business By ejonesy13 Updated 23 Apr 2015 , 8:30pm by ejonesy13

ejonesy13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ejonesy13 Posted 25 Mar 2015 , 7:01am
post #1 of 24

I'm a hobby baker turned pro and I'm ready to rip my hair out over pricing. I know most people say that you should charge 4-5.00 per serving for a fondant covered cake. That works out pretty good for the most part if it is a basic 8", 9", 10" etc... How in the world, though, is one supposed to price things like cakes that are carved or 8" tall or something with unique details? I recently used the 4.00 per serving to price a cake and I DID charge them for the extra details (flowers, teacup, handle etc...) I worked for 10+ hours and only made $30. I am sick about it. Could you wonderful people please help me figure this out and tell me approximately how much you would charge for a cake that has 25 servings and looks like this so that I might have a better idea of what these types of things should be priced at: https://www.facebook.com/181237215247083/photos/a.299589183411885.62380.181237215247083/821729044531227/?type=1&theater

Also, what is an appropriate per hour rate for what we do?

I just have so much to learn. Thank you in advance for your help.

23 replies
ejonesy13 Posted 25 Mar 2015 , 7:02am
post #2 of 24

P.S. Yes the teapot and table are both made of cake.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 25 Mar 2015 , 11:43am
post #3 of 24

Sure you need to price higher but more importantly you need to work faster and more efficiently -- this of course takes time to develop -- but so many of us get discouraged by pricing well then it taking so long to accomplish that there go all the profits down the clocks throat and not in our pocket --