Help! What Am I Doing Wrong?

Decorating By flyingpinkpixie Updated 18 Jan 2015 , 7:33pm by CWR41

flyingpinkpixie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flyingpinkpixie Posted 17 Jan 2015 , 4:43pm
post #1 of 12

A[IMG ALT=""]http://www.cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3322051/width/350/height/700[/IMG] [IMG ALT=""]http://www.cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3322052/width/350/height/700[/IMG] [IMG ALT=""]http://www.cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3322053/width/350/height/700[/IMG]

I've been away from cakes for over a year. I had a coworker who wanted me to make a cake for her daughter's birthday. I'm no professional at the cake thing. I deliver the cake today. I'm afraid it is going to fall over in the car. My questions are: 1- how do I prevent the bulge in the middle of the cakes? 2- what technique do you recommend for fillings? She wanted raspberry jam as filler. It was everywhere! Ugh! 3 - is there a way to put a dowel all the way through even when using cardboard base?

11 replies
MnSnow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MnSnow Posted 17 Jan 2015 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 12

The photos look to me like inadequate support was used causing too much weight and pressure to push down on the bottom tier.

If your filling was everywhere, you either neglected to put a dam in or used way to much filling.

Cute cake :)

remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 17 Jan 2015 , 5:15pm
post #3 of 12

Make sure you put a damn of buttercream in-between cake layers before putting the filling.  Also, before putting buttercream around outside and top, put something heavy on cake to make sure all air is out of cake once you have filling in-between layers. Some put a small tile and let it sit for about an hour to squish out any excess air that might be in there. Then frost your cake. Also as mnsnow said, make sure you put adequate support underneath the top layer on bottom cake layer.