Student Desires To Open Up A Cake Shop In California!!

Business By 1nonlyqueen Updated 1 Apr 2014 , 7:36pm by howsweet

1nonlyqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
1nonlyqueen Posted 31 Mar 2014 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 12

I'm currently an unemployed student majoring in psychology/alcohol & drug studies with a 6 year old daughter. Fortunately, cakes help me earn some money :lol: !!!!

As a child I was always that kid that would draw during class but eventually my inspiration to draw diminished as I grew older. By the time I was 16 I discovered a new art form which was CAKE DECORATION!!!! I could now combine my drawing skills with some creativity to form delicious edible forms of art haha:D!! 

I am now 23 years old and the customers I receive are recommend from friends and family. The one little thing that bothers me is that friends are secretly getting some commission off of my orders. For example, a friend tells me she has someone that wants a cake and asks me for prices, when it comes time to delivering the cakes she pays me instead of me receiving the money from the actual customers.. SUSPICIOUS MUCH?..Im pretty sure she OVER PRICES MY cakes! Then again if she didn't refer these customers to me money would be tight.....

BUT ITS TIME FOR ME TO GAIN CONTROL !!!!

Its time to turn my ambitious thoughts into actions!!

I would like to open up a small cake shop and maybe one day have my mom quit her jobs to run the shop while I work in some job related to my major. My mom wanted to go to school to become a Pastry chef but my grandma said no because it would not make her any money... HA!! THE IRONY :P

This is why I would like to ask for advice from all of you who once were in my shoes and are now successfully living out your dreams...

what are the first steps to open up a shop,

how much money should I have saved up,

what rule regulations need to be followed,