Mixing Regal Icing Colours Together

Decorating By cakebosswannabe Updated 25 Feb 2014 , 8:27pm by cakebosswannabe

cakebosswannabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebosswannabe Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 9:40pm
post #1 of 8

AHi I'm going to be attempting to make and decorate my daughters 2nd birthday cake with doc mcstuffins characters. This will be the first time I've used regal icing for anything other than just covering a cake!

So i have a few questions.. can i mix two premade colours of icing e.g red and yellow to make orange? I'm trying to keep costs down and after looking at my 'drawing' of the potential cake the list of colours involved is as long as my arm!! (I may have been abit adventurous but what do they say the skys the limit and all that ;) ) if the mixing of two colours isn't possible then i may have to rethink the design.

What do i use to adhere them to the cake when there made? (I'm going for a semi 3d look around the cake)

As you can probably tell i'm new to all this but i'm very creative and artistic and have done plenty of modeling with clay etc so i think i get the concept of the 'modeling' part but any tips and pointers of all aspects will be very much appreciated! :) Thanks!

7 replies
ellavanilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellavanilla Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 11:46pm
post #2 of 8

i've never used the brand your talking about, but in theory, you should be able to mix two colors together to get a third. the problem will come if the hue or tone is different than what you are trying to achieve, and you can use a lot of frosting trying to fix a color that didn't come out, wasting money in the long run.

to me, it makes more sense to start with white buttercream and color small batches. this way, you use less frosting and less color for a better taste and presentation. paste color is not very expensive and goes very far. if you will be making more cakes, it's a guarantee that you will use it all.